Get-Ad Free Access: Join Today!

Porsche seeks Sebring 12 Hour Victory in 2024

Can Porsche Penske claim Porsche’s 19th overall win?

2023 IMSA Round 2 Sebring, USA 14th - 18th March 2023 Photo: Nick Dungan/ Drew Gibson Photography

Porsche Penske Motorsport is determined to continue its impressive streak in the 2024 season. After clinching wins at the opening round of the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship in Daytona and at the first race of this year’s FIA World Endurance Championship WEC in Qatar, the works team now heads to Sebring with two Porsche 963. To date, Porsche’s overall win record at Sebring is more than impressive:

Porsche’s outright victories at the 12 Hours of Sebring

  • 1960 – Gendebien/Herrmann (Porsche RS-60)
  • 1968 – Siffert/Herrmann (Porsche 907)
  • 1971 – Elford/Larrousse (Porsche 917 K)
  • 1973 – Haywood/Gregg/Helmick (Porsche Carrera RSR)
  • 1976 – Holbert/Keyser (Porsche Carrera RSR)
  • 1977 – Dyer/Frisselle (Porsche Carrera RSR)
  • 1978 – Redman/Mendez/Garretson (Porsche 935)
  • 1979 – Akin/McFarlin/Woods (Porsche 935)
  • 1980 – Fitzpatrick/Barbour (Porsche 935 K3)
  • 1981 – Leven/Haywood/Holbert (Porsche 935/80)
  • 1982 – Paul Sr./Paul Jr. (Porsche 935 JLP-3)
  • 1983 – Baker/Mullen/Nierop (Porsche 934)
  • 1984 – Heyer/de Narvaéz/Johansson (Porsche 935 J)
  • 1985 – Wollek/Foyt (Porsche 962)
  • 1986 – Akin/Stuck/Gartner (Porsche 962)
  • 1987 – Rahal/Mass (Porsche 962)
  • 1988 – Ludwig/Stuck (Porsche 962)
  • 2008 – Bernhard/Dumas/Collard (Porsche RS Spyder)
Sebring, Florida : IMSA 12h Sebring 2023,

Team Overview for 2024

GTP class (Porsche 963):

  • Proton Competition #5: Gianmaria Bruni (I) / Alessio Picariello (B) / Julien Andlauer (F)
  • Porsche Penske Motorsport #6: Mathieu Jaminet (F) / Nick Tandy (UK) / Frédéric Makowiecki (F)
  • Porsche Penske Motorsport #7: Dane Cameron (USA) / Felipe Nasr (BR) / Matt Campbell (AUS)
  • JDC-Miller MotorSports #85: Tijmen van der Helm (NL) / Richard Westbrook (UK) / Phil Hanson (UK)

GTD Pro class (Porsche 911 GT3 R):

  • AO Racing #77: Laurin Heinrich (D) / Sebastian Priaulx (UK) / Michael Christensen (DK)

GTD class (Porsche 911 GT3 R):

  • Andretti Motorsports #43: Jarett Andretti (USA) / Gabby Chaves (COL) / Scott Hargrove (CDN)
  • MDK Motorsports #86: Anders Fjordbach (DK) / Kerong Li (CHN) / Klaus Bachler (A)
  • Wright Motorsports #120: Adam Adelson (USA) / Elliott Skeer (USA) / Jan Heylen (B)
Sebring, Florida : IMSA 12h Sebring 2023,


Thursday, 14 March

  • 10:05 am – 11:35 am: Free practice 1
  • 3:05 pm – 4:35 pm: Free practice 2
  • 7:45 pm – 9:15 pm: Free practice 3

Friday, 15 March

  • 12:20 pm – 12:35 pm: Qualifying GTD class
  • 1:10 pm – 1:25 pm: Qualifying GTP class

Saturday, 16 March

9:40 am – 9:40 pm: Race

Daytona: Daytona, Roar Before The 24 on January, 20, 2024, (Photo by Juergen Tap)


At the tradition-steeped 12-hour classic in the US state of Florida, the regular drivers will be supported by their works driver colleagues Frédéric Makowiecki from France and Australia’s Matt Campbell. The customer teams Proton Competition and JDC-Miller MotorSports will tackle the top GTP category with two more Porsche 963 race cars. In the two GT classes, a total of four Porsche 911 GT3 R from seasoned customer squads will face fierce competition.

With 18 victories, Porsche is the undisputed record winner of the legendary 12-hour race in Central Florida. After its success at the season opener in Daytona, the works team travels to Sebring, leading the manufacturers’, team, and drivers’ standings. Porsche also currently leads the IMSA Michelin Endurance Cup manufacturers’ standings. This additional long-distance championship includes the longest races of the season – in Sebring and Daytona as well as the Watkins Glen and Indianapolis races and the season finale, “Petit Le Mans” at Road Atlanta.

Daytona: 24h at Daytona on January, 28, 2024, (Photo by Juergen Tap)

The works cars

Three works drivers will crew each of the two Porsche 963 race cars fielded by Porsche Penske Motorsport in the 12-hour race. Mathieu Jaminet from France and Nick Tandy from Great Britain will share the wheel of the No. 6 car with Frenchman Frédéric Makowiecki. Felipe Nasr from Brazil and Dane Cameron from the USA will receive reinforcement from the Daytona and Bathurst winner Matt Campbell in the No. 7 sister car. The Australian also recently clinched the first pole position for the Porsche 963 in the World Endurance Championship in Qatar.

Daytona: Daytona, Roar Before The 24 on January, 20, 2024, (Photo by Juergen Tap)

The customer teams

In the top GTP class, the customer teams JDC-Miller MotorSports and Proton Competition field one Porsche 963 each. In the German team’s No. 5 car, works driver Gianmaria Bruni from Italy will share the cockpit with former Porsche Junior Julien Andlauer from France and Belgian Alessio Picariello. In the JDC-Miller MotorSports car (No. 85), Tijmen van der Helm from the Netherlands and the seasoned pro Richard Westbrook (UK) will be the regular drivers. They receive support at the endurance race in Florida from Phil Hanson (UK).

AO Racing’s Porsche 911 GT3 R will contest the GTD Pro category. Former Porsche Junior Laurin Heinrich from Germany and Briton Sebastian Priaulx are the regular drivers in the No. 77 car. In Sebring, they can count on support from works driver Michael Christensen from Denmark. In the GTD class, the customer teams Andretti Motorsports, MDK Motorsports and Wright Motorsports will enter one of the GT3 racing cars from Weissach. Klaus Bachler, among others, will compete for MDK. The Austrian recently won the LMGT3 class in Qatar at the wheel of the Porsche 911 GT3 R from Manthey PureRxcing.

Daytona: Daytona, Roar Before The 24 on January, 20, 2024, (Photo by Juergen Tap)


All content © 2024 Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG

2023 Sebring Highlights